a meowing morning

Jon was in the shower. I was curled up VERY comfortably, smack dab in the middle of the bed, half awake, half asleep and smiling as I felt the baby kicking. ahhhh, this was good. Then I hear it, a soft little “meow” behind me on the bed. “Aww,” I think, “Finn is going to curl up behind me, it doesn’t get much better.” Then it was a little louder, “Meow.”  “I’ll just ignore him,” I tell myself, “he’ll realize I’m still sleeping.” Then, “MEOW.” and finally, “MEOW, MEOW, MEOW!!”

Stinking cat! It’s before 7am, I need to sleep! We have a baby coming soon, I need all the sleep I can get!! But I roll over and grab him and cuddle him and he’s so soft and cute I can’t help but smile.

Is this what it’s like with a baby?… In the middle of night?… Multiple times in the middle of the night?… Will I just smile and hold him or her and totally be unaware of the fact that I’m not getting the sleep I need?… Will it be like that? 

I’m thinking it will be even better…. someone tell me if my expectations are already too high!

2 Responses

  1. C’mon now, Em. You know the cat was there to feel the baby kicking!! I would have done the same thing had I been there…which I should have been.

    Good story, though. I totally misguessed where it was going – I thought you were going to say that you were just about to doze off into the most heavenly sleep when all of a sudden…BLOOP!! Good ol’ Jon’s out of the shower.

    Love,
    Javier

  2. What a great picture. Didn’t I just see an “instant”
    scrapbook page – journaling and everything? In fact,
    bits and pieces of your blog would make a great scrap-
    book. Wouldn’t the baby love looking back years from
    now and reading about your thoughts and such?
    Really cool – you may want to consider it .

Leave a Reply

