frugal fridays- girls weekend

I remember in college I had a friend who had an older sister or aunt or someone who once a year had a “girls week” with her college friends. They had been to Lake Tahoe and the beach and all sorts of fantastic places. I remember thinking how wonderful and luxurious that sounded and how I wanted my roomies and I to do just that.

Then reality set in… with jobs and families and gas prices… these kind of retreats sound great but would never be feasible for me or for most people for that matter! Last year though, my college roommates and I decided we wanted to get together. 1 was in GA, 2 in SC, I was in VA, one of us was in England, 2 were expecting babies, and all of us had jobs.  We were so blessed to come together at the house of one of the girls for a weekend. (it coincided with the one from England’s trip to the States and a baby shower for her) 

We all chipped in for food or brought something towards a meal, we ate at the house and cooked together, just like we did in college. We talked… we didn’t feel a need to go out or “do” anything, we just talked for hours… and hours. It was fantastic! It was a wonderful time to reconnect without feeling like we had to go “away” or do anything fancy.

I’m super excited because now, one year later, we’re doing it again this weekend!!! I’ve been looking forward to it for months!

One Response

  1. It’s great to get together. I’m planning two separated get to gathers, 1 w/my daughters & 1 w/my mom & sis. Not no a yrly bases but every other month or so.

Leave a Reply

