update on my freezer meals

So last week I made Swiss Chicken as a freezer prep meal for when the baby arrives! I froze each chicken breast on a piece of tinfoil on a pan and then when they were frozen wrapped them up real good. No picture, but they turned out GREAT!

This week I made Chicken Tetrazzini (I think I have spelled this about 5 different ways…. but this is the right way according to dictionary.com). I made three of them in tinfoil lined round cake pans and once they froze I popped them out of the cake pans, wrapped them and stacked them in my freezer.

YAY! Two weeks down and I am on track! Recipes are below:

Swiss Chicken

1 can cream of chicken soup and 1/4 c milk, mix
1/2 stick of margarine, melted
place 3 chicken breasts (I used 4) on a pammed piece of aluminum foil on a cookie sheet. Place slices of swiss cheese on top. Spoon soup mixture over each breast. Sprinkle with 2 c herb stuffing mix (the crumbly kind not the cubes). Drizzle with butter. (I decided to wait and will drizzle with butter once they thaw right before cooking. 
Bake 350, 50 – 60 mn, uncovered.

Chicken Tetrazzini

  • 1 whole chicken, cook and save broth
  • 1/2 c. margarine
  • 1/2 c. plain flour
  • 1/2 c. chicken broth (from what you just boiled)
  • 2 1/2 c. milk
  • 8 oz. velveeta type cheese
  • 1 onion finely chopped
  • green pepper, finely chopped (optional)
  • 8 oz. spaghetti
  • 4 oz. grated cheese (I used cheddar)

Cook noodles in broth from chicken. Drain. Using a large pot melt butter and saute onions and peppers. Add flour to make a paste and slowly add broth until smooth. Add milk and both cheeses. Mix until melted and be careful this is easy to burn! Add chopped chicken and cooked noodles. Pam a 9×13 pan or larger (or split into separate containers for freezing). Top with buttered cracker crumbs (1 sleeve Ritz type crackers and 3/4 stick of butter).

Cook uncovered at 375 for 30 minutes or at 350 for 45 minutes if casserole is cold. If frozen, thaw completely before cooking!

One Response

  1. Glad you made the Swiss Chicken. It does so well.
    Did you think about doing the breakfast pizzas? We
    have eaten them as night with fruit, too. I used Aldi’s
    eng. muffins and their sausage.

    Love, Aunt Kay

Leave a Reply

