being satisfied

So I am not doing too swell keeping up with this blog lately! Things have been quite busy as we’ve been getting ready for the baby and everything else that goes along with that. Jon has been studying hardcore for the GRE and I’ve been… being supportive!

I learned yet another lesson from Finn tonight… I mean, if my cat teaches me this much just think how much a real live human baby is going to teach me… scary! I usually try to feed Finn dinner about 8:30 at night, any earlier and he won’t make it through the night without meowing, any later and he’ll get really pitiful. So 8:30 it is! He’s gotten very used to this routine and now appears from wherever he has been napping or playing to stand by his food bowl and look up at me with his big eyes at about 7:30. So he’s an hour off… still pretty smart for a kitty don’t cha think? Tonight I told him, “one more hour, you’ve got to wait one more hour” and he did, very calmly and quietly and sweetly. Then at 8:30 I fed him. He took two bites of food and then jumped on the windowsill and started trying to eat the Wandering Jew.

I just don’t get it! He waited so patiently for his yummy Purina Indoor Cat Chow, and then… once it was there in front of him, went off after something else… the houseplant that has been sitting in that same window all day.

How often do I do that though? I wait, sometimes not even patiently, and when I finally get what I wanted (or thought I wanted) I start going after something different that I think I want more than what I just received!  *sigh* I long to be completely satisfied with all that I’ve been blessed with, but not satisfied enough to think that this earth is better than my heavenly home.

One Response

  1. Great post!

    We struggle with that when it comes to kids and getting “stuff.” Sometimes, after a kiddo receives something and immediately asks for something else/more, I answer,

    “No, I don’t think so. The first thing didn’t make you happy, so I really don’t think the second thing would either.”

Leave a Reply

