book review- 3 in 1

I love to read but haven’t really had much of a chance to do so lately… at least grown up books.  But I have been looking at children’s books in preparation for the baby to come. I read a lot when I was little and I think I had this idea that I had read all the “good ones.” But I’m realizing there are a TON of great children’s books out there, old ones and new ones that I haven’t even heard of!

A book that is new to me but was published in 1973 (WAY before I was born) is 3 in 1: A Picture of God. It’s written by Joanne Marxhausen. I LOVE this book! It is a simple picture book with minimal words that does an excellent job explaining the Trinity in terms that a child can understand… hey, even I can understand it! The author uses the analogy of an apple to explain the parts of the Trinity: the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. In a strict theological sense I think the analogy breaks down a bit given the fact that it is using a tangible mundane object to explain something, someone who is holy, perfect and spiritual. All in all though it’s an excellent read for kids, and adults!

I’m looking into some other books for the baby that are “off the beaten path” and not as common, or just books that are really great.  I had heard that the Jesus Storybook Bible is a great children’s Bible so we may look into that but I’m definitely open to recommendations!